A class is born

I’m starting to get nervous- but in a good way. I’m starting to see the fruition of six and half years of hard work. Sweat and tears, paper cuts and headaches, frustration and elation are finally coming down to the creation of a class.
It all depends now on how many people are interested in this class on this campus. And I pray that we are ready for it.
Disabilities is such a hidden topic. It makes us uncomfortable and causes us feelings of guilt. Do we want to be told how badly the church is failing in the aspects of actively doing ministry with the disabled? Not really. We might not even want to recognize that we as Christians (since we are all one Body after all) have caused harm to those who are considered disabled. We have ignored them, we have emotionally harmed them. Now, it’s time to change.
I think God is wanting me to stir up the pot on this campus. He has made me come back to this topic continually in six and half years of classes. I don’t think I’ve gone through one semester without visiting this topic in one class or another. If you’ve ever been in a graduate level class you know how hard that is to do. Teachers tend to want you to stretch your knowledge, and not to be able to recycle stuff you might already know.
I chose a topic that isn’t talked about and God kept bringing it up again. It’s a topic that needs to be talked about and God is getting the conversation started.
In some ways I might be like a dog with a bone. It’s an important bone. But, unlike that dog, I want to share it with everyone who wants a bite. I want people to jump on this bandwagon and create change!
The only way the church will start working on change is for the people who lead it to be aware that change needs to happen. How do these leaders know that change needs to happen? They are taught by professors who are aware that something needs to happen. And how does the professor even know to teach about this type of topic? Someone starts talking about it. (Usually a student who won’t let the subject go 😉 )
Get the conversation started.
The only way to get people talking about it is to speak up.
This is so hard for me- so introverted that you have to pry me out of the corner with a crowbar- to speak up.
But, I know this is important. It needs to be talked about. The universal church needs to wake up, just as much as the local church. The only way to do this is to give the new leaders the tools to get into the mess and shake things up, and the only way to do this is to tell them that this is a need.
This class, I hope it causes the conversation to start. I have no clue where it will end up but at least it will be started.
If Jesus Christ saw the glory within the blindness of a man (John 9), why doesn’t the church?
If you never had a reason to think about this topic, you won’t be ready for the family with a child who is considered different in the eyes of man that walks into your church.
Have you thought about it?
What do you think the Bible says about disabilities?
What does your family teach?
What does your church teach?
Are you ready to talk about it?
I am.

“You shall not curse the deaf or put a stumbling block before the blind, but you shall fear your God; I am the Lord.” Leviticus 19:14

“He said also to the man who had invited him, “When you give a dinner or a banquet, do not invite your friends or your brothers or your relatives or rich neighbors, lest they also invite you in return and you be repaid. But when you give a feast, invite the poor, the crippled, the lame, the blind, and you will be blessed, because they cannot repay you. For you will be repaid at the resurrection of the just.” Luke 14:12-14

“Having no expectations shows pity, which shows sadness, sorrow & regret. A child with a disability needs support. Stand behind him, champion and back him! Believe in him and have expectations! They inspire hope, excitement, eagerness and success! Which would you want others to give you?” – Joan Scanlon-Dise

“I was slightly brain damaged at birth, and I want people like me to see that they shouldn’t let a disability get in the way. I want to raise awareness – I want to turn my disability into ability.” – Susan Boyle

One thought on “A class is born

  1. Pingback: Christians Anonymous | A class is born

Leave a Reply

