Shaking the Community

My little community is hurting yet again. We seem not to be able to get past the tears before another reason to cry becomes known. This last Friday, a young child’s life was lost. An 8 year old boy fell into the river and his little body was found an hour later.
The sorrow that settles upon our hearts at the loss of such a young one is great.
Though I personally never met this little boy, my mom worked closely with him in the Special Education class.
The little boy had a severe form of autism. He couldn’t speak, but he could get his point across. His little body had scoliosis which caused great pain. But, he still found reasons to laugh.
I grieve for the mother and sister who had to say goodbye so abruptly.
I grieve for the teachers who will have to explain to the kids who were in class with him, that that little boy won’t be coming back.
I hurt for the rescuers who found him, nearly all the volunteers who rolled out for the call. They who have children of their own, who went to the same class as this little boy.
Our community is hurting, yet again.
We are left with a decision:
We can turn our backs on God– because He took the little boy too early.
We could turn our backs on those close to us– because it’s just to hard to say goodbye.
We could protect ourselves by not feeling.
Or…
Or we could run harder towards God–so He can comfort us.
Or we could face those people we’ve forgotten—so we can say I love you.
Or we can feel more deeply, speak more clearly, and hold on a little more tightly—so we can break our heart so it can grow bigger.
Yes, our community is tired. Just like so many other families and communities across the world are tired right now. We feel like we are limping along, too broken, too worn, to care anymore. But still, the tears fall.
God is shaking this community to the very base of our understanding.
He is shaking us to wake us up.
We all woke up in 2007 when we had that flood. When the waters went past their usual flood zone and hit homes that were never touched before, we woke up. We grasped our fellow man’s hand and helped each other rebuild. We became a community that could rely on each other again.
Have we fallen asleep again? Instead of flood waters, are tears the way God is trying to make us wake up?
God has called home some very special saints from my community. People who were doing the work of God, and it makes me wonder. I wonder, what special work did they complete that God called them home now? And are we doing God’s work?
I pray that we learn the lesson God is teaching us.
I pray that the message is received and we pass it along.
Lord, please make us not fear love, but rather seek after it. May we love as You love us- unconditionally, with great fervor, and without stopping. May fear be far from us so that we can speak loudly of Your saving grace. May we speak without fear to those who are lost. May we speak with clarity of the sacrifice You made for us. Shake us Lord, so that we don’t think that we’ll have another day to tell the Story. Make us see that this life is so fleeting, and that there is only one life that is eternal- and that is the one in You. Make us see You and You alone. Take over our hearts, our bodies, and our mouths, so the truth will be told. Make us Your instruments, O Lord. We praise You for Your love is abundant and never ending. Amen
Shake us Lord. Shake us awake before it is too late.

John 11:25-26 “I am the resurrection and the life. He who believes in me will live, even though he dies; and whoever lives and believes in me will never die. Do you believe this?”

John 5:24-30 Jesus said, “I assure you: Anyonewho hears My word and believes Him who sent Me has eternal life and will not come under judgment but has passed from death to life. “I assure you: An hour is coming, and is now here, when the dead will hear the voice of the Son of God, and those who hear will live. For just as the Father has life in Himself, so also He has granted to the Son to have life in Himself. And He has granted Him the right to pass judgment, because He is the Son of Man. Do not be amazed at this, because a time is coming when all who are in the graves will hear His voice and come out—those who have done good things, to the resurrection of life, but those who have done wicked things, to the resurrection of judgment.“I can do nothing on My own. I judge only as I hear, and My judgment is righteous, because I do not seek My own will, but the will of Him who sent Me.”

Leave a Reply

