Quirks of Life

Life is hard.                                                                                                               Sometimes it feels as if it enjoys picking you up, tossing you around, and throwing you full speed at a brick wall.                                                                                                         Other times, it feels as if its crouching in the darken corner like a lethal big cat just waiting for you to let your guard down so it can pounce on you like a tasty bit of prey.                  For me, when life is going well, I start getting antsy. Waiting for the other shoe to drop. Like Pavlvo’s  dog, I’ve been trained by life’s quirks to anticipate the ringing of that bell.            Life is hard. It’s tricky, it’s unexpected, and it hurts.                                                           But, then there is the times that make it all worth it. The music found in the sound of a baby’s cry, the tears of happiness at a proposal from the love of your life, accepting the diploma that you’ve been working towards for years, shared laughter between friends, moments of peaceful joy and happiness.                                                                       These moments are the ones that are worth all the rest.                                              These moments are the shots of adrenaline that get you through the restless nights as worry over takes your dreams, when the fear is so strong you can’t keep a smile on your face.                                                                                                                                     Life is hard.                                                                                                                         But, it’s worth it.                                                                                                                         Even when people hurt you, when your body gives out, when you pinch pennies to simply survive, life is worth it.                                                                                                        God is present even in the midst of the most painful moment in your life. He’s there holding your hand, telling you that he loves you. Even when others leave you in those painful moments, God won’t.                                                                                                                     The quirks of life can get you down, but like Abraham Lincoln said, “I have been driven many times upon my knees by the conviction that I had nowhere else to go.” So, I will spend my life on my knees in front of my God, so I can stand tall in front the world.                           Life is full of quirks, is your heart full of God?

~Isaiah 41:10: Fear not, for I am with you; be not dismayed, for I am your God; I will strengthen you, I will help you, I will uphold you with my righteous right hand.

~1 Corinthians 10:13: No temptation has overtaken you that is not common to man. God is faithful, and he will not let you be tempted beyond your ability, but with the temptation he will also provide a way of escape, that you may be able to endure it.

~Psalm 27:1: the Lord is my light and my salvation; whom shall I fear? The Lord is the stronghold of my life; of whom shall I be afraid?

Leave a Reply

