Side order of TRUST for table 7!

Proverbs 3:5-6 “Trust in the LORD with all your heart and lean not on your own understanding; In all your ways acknowledge him, and he will make your paths straight.” (NIV)

You ever have one of ‘those days’? You know, those days where you would swear in a court of law that EVERYTHING was going wrong? Well, I would swear in that same court that I’ve had a month of it!  Don’t get me wrong, there’s been some great days–specifically the celebrations that I have gotten to participate in (so far three of the six weddings in a couple of months!). But, for personal things? HORRIBLE! All revolving around the money issue. It’s not about relationships for me, it’s that evil green thing that makes the world go around and that I never have enough of!  (I despise money…I think we should go back to the bartering system personally!)

When things go out of control for me, I tend to get stressed out. Frustration mounts as life skids sideways when you are going 100 miles straight forward. Like a car going into an out of control skid, your body is tossed around the interior of that car, making your head hit against seemingly every possible surface in that vehicle.  Legs and arms go in opposite directions making it seem as if your body is trying to shake itself apart. That is what one’s emotions feel like, not to mention the mental strain and even the spiritual wear and tear when life goes out of control.

My family jokes that we think we’re related to Murphy of Murphy’s Law. You know the one right? The old adage of “Anything that can go wrong will go wrong?” Yep, I honestly think Murphy is lurking in my family tree. Car lights stop working, tabs are past due, have to buy a new car battery, struggling to find enough classes to stay full time in the Fall, and so the list goes on… and on…and on.

But, at the same time- God showed me that he has my life and my future in his hands. He blessed me with enough money to take care of my apartment rent. God gave me the chance to fix the late tabs before the police found out and reminded me with a ticket (THANK YOU MOM!) My parents were/are supportive and gave out of their own short funds to help me.

God keeps proving himself in his faithfulness to such a wayward child. Sometimes it’s takes these moments of being out of control to shake me to my foundational core, forcing me to remember all he has done for me.

Life is always out of control. But, even when my surety wavers, God has me. He never leaves me, never drops me from his attention. Each thing I go through will show me, if I take but a moment; God’s grace, his love, his provision, his faithfulness.

Have you taken that moment lately? Sure, in the near future I do not see Murphy leaving his Law miles away from me, but you know what I do see? God in all his infinite love always standing near.

Psalm 31:14-15 “But as for me, I trust in You, O LORD; I say, “You are my God.” My times are in Your hand” (NKJV)

Leave a Reply

