It’s not as easy as people make it seem…

There is a lie going around that says becoming a Christian will make everything perfect. That there will be no more struggles, no more pain, no more tears. I have NEVER read this in the Bible. No where can it be found written where God the Father or Jesus Christ ever promised those who follow that life was would be without trouble.

Actually, the opposite is true.

Daniel 11:33 ~”Those who are wise will instruct many, though for a time they will fall by the sword or be burned or captured or plundered.                                                                   John 15:18~ “If the world hates you, keep in mind that it hated me first.”                            Matthew 24:9~”Then you will be handed over to be persecuted and put to death, and you will be hated by all nations because of me.

Please always read the Scriptures that I use in context- do not take them as is. Research it out for yourself. Own your faith!

These are but a few verses of what Christians will experience because of our faith.

The ‘Prosperity Gospel’ is a false Gospel. Teachers of this gospel take verses out of context and make them say what they think people want to hear. And people WANT to hear that life will get better, that riches are just a choice away, that health and easy streets are a simple prayer away. I urge you to think on this very carefully.

The World hates those who follow the Righteous and Sovereign King. The World thinks us fools. The World does not understand the ways of the True God. Why would they reward us with worldly goods for something they do not understand? They wouldn’t. They would rather condemn us for following a God they can’t understand, nor that they can manipulate. Created gods are appeased by certain rules that humans have made up. Created gods have no true say on the soul of their ‘followers.’ Created gods have slaves that follow them, because people have given up their intelligent minds to worship an image created by hands of man.

Isaiah 44:15-17
Then it becomes something for a man to burn, so he takes one of them and warms himself; he also makes a fire to bake bread. He also makes a god and worships it; he makes it a graven image and falls down before it. Half of it he burns in the fire; over this half he eats meat as he roasts a roast and is satisfied. He also warms himself and says, “Aha! I am warm, I have seen the fire.” But the rest of it he makes into a god, his graven image. He falls down before it and worships; he also prays to it and says, “Deliver me, for you are my god.”

So, why do I follow Jesus Christ the Savior? Why do I put my trust in God the Creator? What possibly could I gain from following a God that actually promises that my life will get harder because I follow him? In what other religion can be found a God willing to actually die for their children? There are none. Christianity is the only religion in which a God of his own power died a true death, in which he was buried, so that a debt that man has accrued with God could be wiped clean. Because of the actions Jesus Christ (death, burial, resurrection), we are able to approach God once more, when before our sins would have made it impossible.

Why do I worship Yahweh (the Hebrew form for God to distinguish it from the false gods that are named ‘god’)? Because I was given peace. A deep inner peace that was missing in my life before. I’m not saying that I don’t still worry- because I do! I’m not saying that my life is perfect- because it isn’t! But, even in the midst of tears and fears, there is an indescribable feeling of peace.

There is a deep knowledge that God is present. He knows what I am going through. I will keep tripping and falling in my attempts to follow him wholeheartedly, but I know that He isn’t the one who will leave me. I KNOW that he is always there, never does His eye leave me, never do His ears turn deaf towards my pleas. That is why I follow the God who died for me. I am never alone. Because of the Risen Lord I know that I am loved.                               My life did not get instantly better upon my belief.  I did not become rich. My health did not automatically get better. I didn’t become famous, I don’t have all the answers, people didn’t change their attitudes towards me.

But- it was so worth it.

I know that when I die, I will go to Heaven. That peace inside of me is the assurance that God knows me. Because He knows me, I will not be left behind to reside in the prison that Satan has made.  God has marked me with His life- giving blood and my shackles were broken.

My treasures are being laid up in Heaven (Matthew 6:19-20) where Man cannot steal it nor ruin it. My earthly life may become harder, I may be beaten for my faith- my life may become forfeit because I refuse to renounce the God I follow. If I put my trust in Christ Jesus, who for my sins, bore the cruelty of man and hung on one of the worse execution devices devised by man—how can I not be willing to feel the lash of an angry tongue? Or the beating fists of foolish man?

No. Faith does not make your earthly life better. In some cases you might even find out that your life gets worse because of your belief. Depending where you are on Earth- your family might try to kill  you, your government might imprison you. Stand firm. Stand strong. You will live with eternity with the True God.  Know that He Himself, bore the same for the love of YOU.

It’s not as easy as people make it seem. Faith is hard. You will cry tears of pain, fear, sorrow, and anger. Your body will bear the brunt of foolish of man, your mind will doubt the faithfulness of God. But know, you are not alone. You are loved. God is for you, not against you (Romans 8:31).  It’s not as easy as people make it seem….but it is so worth it.           1 Peter 4:13-14~But rejoice that you participate in the sufferings of Christ, so that you may be overjoyed when his glory is revealed. If you are insulted because of the name of Christ, you are blessed, for the Spirit of glory and of God rests on you. 

 

Leave a Reply

