In the process of being saved…

Imagine the spark of a discarded cigarette hitting the bone dry grass along the side of the road.

 What happens to that grass?

 It quickly catches fire, engulfing everything within it’s path.

Nothing stands a chance against the rolling waves of heat.

Fire consumes all things.

Sin is in many ways, much like fire. It takes just one sin to cause a horrifying amount of damage. A soul that is engulfed within sin, can become so black that we believe that is impossible for them seek salvation. As if it is our belief that causes salvation for others!

But, sin is also like that cigarette. Continual use of that one vice, quietly but effectively eats away the body, leaving a rotting empty husk behind.

Sin is a double edged sword.

You can quickly be consumed or it will slowly kill you, piece by piece.

Sin is ANYTHING that is not godly or righteous. The Bible is full of examples of the sins we as humans commit.  But, this is a wake up call for those who believe that we are inherently good- we aren’t!

If we prescribe to the idea that we are truly good, we will start prescribing to the idea that we can buy our way into Heaven with good works. If we do enough charitable actions, God will welcome us in. This is a lie!

It is only through Christ’s blood and sacrifice that we can be accepted into Heaven.

One of the amazing aspects that throws me for a loop every time I ponder it is this:

When Christ died on the cross – He saved me (and all mankind-past, present, and future) He paid a debt that we could never fulfill.

I am in the process of being saved– His blood continually covers me. Every sin that I commit, no matter how good I try to be, is forgiven by my following after Christ. By my use of freewill, that was given to me by the Creator of the Universe, I have accepted the sacrifice of my Savior as my own. Something that can never be bought or sold, but only freely given. —This is not a free pass to sin though! Because I follow Christ I seek to become more righteous by mimicking Him in everything I do. I might fail more that I succeed, but because of His love, I keep trying.

And finally, I will be saved. When Christ comes back to earth, He will create a new heavens and a new earth. When all judgments are made when He has taken his place upon the throne, the final part of my salvation will be complete. I will take my place as a daughter of the Most High King.

Salvation is not a one time stagnate thing, it is a living river of cleansing blood that flows from the wounds of the Savior Jesus Christ. Our God loves us so much that He continually covers us within protection of salvation.

How that rocks my world every time I stop to ponder the acts of my God!

        So do we want to live within the raging destructive fires of sin?

                      Or the cool saving grace of the Savior’s blood?

                                    Do we want to die by the vice of a cigarette

                                                   or

                                              do we want to live within eternal life?

2 Peter 1:2-4  Grace and peace be yours in abundance through the knowledge of God
and of Jesus our Lord. His divine power has given us everything we need for life and godliness
through our knowledge of him who called us by his own glory and goodness. Through these he has given us his very great and precious promises, so that through them you may participate in the divine nature and escape the corruption in the world caused by evil desires.
1John  1:9  If we confess our sins, he is faithful and just and will forgive us our sins and purify us from all unrighteousness.
1 Thessalonians 5:23  May God himself, the God of peace, sanctify you through and through.
May your whole spirit, soul and body be kept blameless at the coming of our Lord Jesus Christ.
John 17:17 & 18  Sanctify them by the truth; your word is truth. For them I sanctify myself, that they too may be truly sanctified
Leave a Reply

